Welsh Railways Research Circle

Cylch Ymchwil Rheilffyrdd Cymru
 


 
Monmouthshire Railway and Canal Company
Introduction
The MR&CC was a rather special organisation, possibly even unique, in having developed from a canal company with associated tramroads, into a railway company passing through a stage of having some combined edge and plateway sections. Now that is a challenge for the modelling fraternity! The story of the tramway developments and conversion to railways is fascinating from both business and technical viewpoints. Although the Eastern and Western valleys lines met at Newport, they could be considered in many ways as two separate and distinct systems. The Eastern valley lines were, essentially, built as railways whereas in the Western valleys the lines evolved from tramways and there were no through passenger trains between the two southern termini. At their workshops in Newport the company built locomotives, coaches and wagons in Wales, only the TVR in did the same.

As with many of the railways in south Wales the MR&CC came into being in the form it was as a result of the geology, geography and industrialisation of the area. Many of the valley lines originated at the edge of the coal field where coal, iron ore and limestone out-cropped but the MR&CC also ran along the eastern edge of the area. As a consequence it was an early victim of the squeeze between the major railway companies and was taken over by the GWR soon after that company converted its South Wales main line from broad to standard gauge.
 


 
 
Important Dates
 
1792 Formation of the "Company of the Proprietors of the Monmouthshire Canal Navigation"
1796 Canal opened from Newport to Pontnewynydd with associated tramways
1822 Passenger service with horse-drawn carriages on the Western valleys tramroads
1829 Steam locomotive use recorded
1845 Authorisation for the construction of the Newport to Pontypool railway and conversion of Western Valley tramroads to railways
1849 Name change to Monmouthshire Railway & Canal Company
1852 Section to Ebbw Vale, Newport Dock St. and Newport (Marshes Gate) to Pontypool opened
1854 N.A.& H.R opened from Coed-y-Gric Junction with through running to Newport; Pontypool to Blaenavon opened.
1864 New station opened at Newport Mill St.; Brecon & Abergavenny canal purchased.
1875 MR&CC leased to GWR
1879 Line from Pontypool to LNWR at Abersychan & Talywain opened
1880 MR&CC amalgamated with GWR, passenger trains moved to Newport High St.
1941 Passenger services between Pontypool and Brynmawr stopped
1962 Remaining passenger services terminated
1963 Newport Mill St to Cwmbran closed
1980 Cwmbran to Abersychan & Talywain closed
     
Selected Reading  Byles, Aubrey; The History of the Monmouthshire Railway and Canal Company; Village Publishing, Cwmbran, 1962; ISBN 0946043000
Cooke, R. A.; Track Layout Diagrams of the G.W.R. and BR W.R. 
Section 38 Newport; R. A. Cooke, Harwell, 1980
Section 39 Pontypool Road and Eastern Valleys; R. A. Cooke, Harwell, 1979
Section 40 Western Valleys; R.A. Cooke, Harwell, 1984
Mitchell, Vic & Smith, Keith; Monmouthshire Eastern Valleys; Middleton Press, Midhurst, 2006; ISBN 1904474713
Mitchell, Vic & Smith, Keith; Abertillery & Ebbw Vale; Middleton Press, Midhurst, 2006; ISBN 1904474845
Pritchard, A.; The Railways of S. E. Monmouthshire; Oakwood Press, Lingfield, 1962
Rattenbury, Gordon; Tramroads of the Brecknock & Abergavenny Canal; Railway & Canal Historical Society, Oakham, 1980; ISBN 0901461245

Welsh Railways Research Circle Rhymney Railway Page
This page is maintained by the webmaster (webmaster@wrrc.org.uk)
Last modified 4 November 2007
Copyright:
These pages and the images and information contained within them are the copyright of the Welsh Railways Research Circle. Reproducing information and images for any profit related purpose is prohibited without written permission from the WRRC, but permission is granted to reproduce information and images here for the purpose of individual use